You and I

I’ll be there for you
When the rain starts to pour
I’ll be there for you
Like I’ve been there before
I’ll be there for you
‘Cause you’re there for me too

More than a year spent without writing… When I first had the writer’s bug, I never thought a day would come when I’d have the writer’s block. There are a few who have made me realise that though I didn’t actually lose something in this while, I did miss something that made the greater part of me. The fact that they know (and I acknowledge) me to be a person of great adamance compelled me to give writing another shot. So, here I amโ€” back again!

In life, some people have touched me so much, and so deeply (even with just as much as a gentle tap), so I thought why not dedicate something to someone who made it happen? This post is for one such friend for whom all of the world’s words are not enough. I can best describe her with six letters: D. H. W. A. N. I.

Our story goes way back: we’ve known each other since we were three; one day, we fought, and the next, we became best friends. That’s practically it. Albeit time has distanced us, here we are, standing together. We have known each other, and we have been there for each other. I know it sounds crazy, but this kind of a friendship exists. And the unconditional love is very much real.

I’ve always embraced it, and loved what I have, but one event made me realise what it is worth to cherish it. With just as simple as a text, she moved me, surprised me, yet again, and spoke out loud and clearโ€” she was is not beside me, but within meโ€” she is a part of me, just like writing is. Here’s what she sent to me, as soon as the clock struck 12, and it was June 4 (not a fraction of a second later, and I swear I’m not exaggerating) (I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist punctuating):

Hey Tris, it’s your birthday! *A moment of applause for the birth of the legend๐Ÿ˜‚* The spelling corrector, the grammar book (probably a thesaurus), but still a book of knowledge… There is glitter in your eyes; they show the determination in you. You are selfless, and for me, flawless. The one who doesn’t meet me for years, but still by heart, our souls remain connected. We talk once in two months or probably even less than that, but once we start, our conversationโ€” it can’t end; it just goes on. You are tough, though intelligent. Everyone is unique, but you are some different kind of unique. You are the cheerful bae. The girl who is dramatic, yet away from all the drama๐Ÿ˜‚ She is filmy. The bollywood filmy. SHE is an inner joy, which everyone cannot notice, but the one who notices is worth the gain. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™ From all mishaps to challenges you have faced, you stand still. You accept what you receive. The little contended freak. My dhak dhak queen, and obviously, my soul sister. I hope this friendship never drifts apart. And for the surprise thing, I guess this is the only thing I could prepare. So sorry for not standing up to your expectations, but still… rock the world. ๐Ÿ•๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’ž
Memories never fade, it still plays in flashback๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜™

 

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ญ BEAUTIFUL. Isn’t it?

An angel (can’t help with the narcissism) fell to the Earth on June 4. Four days later, she was given an accomplice who truly completed her. I don’t know how to surprise you, and to be brutally honest, I have no clue as to what to gift to you; but there is one thing I’m sure of: THIS. Our eternal friendship, and our unbound love. All I can say is though I have not found Prince Charming, I did find all the six F. R. I. E. N. D. S. in one person.

Hope remains while the company is true; Dhwani, you are the Samwise to my Frodo, my Parabatai, my oldest true friend; you are #friendshipgoals. Together, we’ll grow to become beautiful people, and together, we’ll kick ass. I guess, all there’s left to say is Happy Birthday:)

4 thoughts on “You and I

  1. That’s so nice! I also have a friend from my early childhood. We played a lot together and then she moved away and we didn’t talk for like 12 years. I didn’t even know where she was. Well, when I went to a new high school, I met her there and here we are: best friends (again) for 5 years already. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Speak now, or forever hold your piece!

